All Summer in a Day: Margot’s Confession

By Jacob, Class of 2022

I was sitting with my grandmother, just grandmother and I at the dinner table. “How do you like living on Venus Margot? I have certainly missed you,” she told me. “There is certainly a lot of rain outside. Why is that?”

“It has always been raining like this,” I told her. “Hey, I thought you weren’t supposed to be here until December, but here you are in November.”

“Oh, I just couldn’t wait to see you,” grandma told me. “So, do you like it here?”

“No,” I said. “The kids here always make fun of me and I really miss the sun.

“It rains here for even years and then sun only comes out for one hour,” I explained. “The last time the sun came out was a few months ago and the other kids locked me in a closet. Then went out and played in the sun.”

“That’s terrible!” she exclaimed. “Granny is going to teach them a lesson.” Then she picked up her metal can and started walking towards the classroom.

When she walked inside and shut the door, I could hear a pounding sound and kids screaming. Then I never feared of being mistreated again, or being hit with a metal cane.

 

*** Teacher’s Note: Previously, scholars read the short story “All Summer in a Day” by Ray Bradbury. After analyzing portions of the plot and working with a dialogue mini-lesson, scholars were instructed to create a short dialogue between the main character, Margot, and her visiting Margot. Scholars were required to display skills of using dialogue, background on Margot’s experiences (characterization), and writing creativity. This activity is being used as scaffolding towards eventually creating individual narrative stories.

MD College & Career Readiness Standards: RL.6.3, RL.6.5, W.6.3.b

About briancookeducator

Husband, Daddy, teacher, #Mountaineer, coach, and aspiring school leader | Thoughts are my own.
This entry was posted in Narrative, Student Assignments and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

