Two-Voice Poem: Video Games

By Gavin and Logan, Class of 2022

Player Both Maker
 I play games.
 I make the games.
We love the games.
 I work in a factory.
 I play in my bedroom.
I use a computer.
I use a controller.
My name is in the credits.
My name is on the profile screen.
I change the game.
Mine stays the same.
I make codes for the game.
I hack the codes.
My buttons are A through Z.
My buttons are one through three
I work with a group.
I work with myself.
Game over.

***

Teacher’s Note: Our enrichment class allows time to build on some of the skills being taught in the regular ELA classroom. Today, our group created two-voice poems and focused on point of view. The poem above is the first scaffolding piece as scholars build toward creating two-voice poems relating to literature stories being completed in class. However, allowing them to create their own poems with topics of their choice allows them to build confidence and can be used as a formative assessment.

MD College & Career Standard: RL.6.6

About briancookeducator

Husband, Daddy, teacher, #Mountaineer, coach, and aspiring school leader | Thoughts are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

